Philippines: Sandigan convicts 10 municipal officials of graft

Ten former officials of Viga, Catanduanes have been convicted by the Sandiganbayan Third Division of their graft charge for purchasing a backhoe in 2005 without complying with proper procurement laws.

Mayor Jose dela Cruz Torres, Vice Mayor Yolando Bernal Tuquero, and Sangguniang Bayan (SB) members Lourdes Alberto del Rosario, Asuncion Loyola Odi, Rosario T. Mollasgo, Horacio Timola Aquino Jr., Domingo Creer Villanueva, Orbel Tolon Tonio, William Tuno Tuplano, and Gomercindo Tebelin Litong were all found guilty beyond reasonable doubt of violating Section 3(e) of Republic Act 3019, otherwise known as the Anti-Graft and Corrupt Practices Act.

Meanwhile, SB member Nerissa Usero, who is one of the co-accused, still remains at large.

They were sentenced to suffer the indeterminate penalty of six years and one month to 10 years as maximum, with perpetual disqualification from holding public office.

The original full article can be found at



Ready to find out more?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap